The International Federation of Societies for Microscopy (IFSM)

The International Federation of Societies for Microscopy (IFSM) welcomes you to the 19th International Microscopy Congress (IMC19), to be held from 9-14 September 2018 in Sydney, Australia.

IFSM is the global alliance of microscopy societies. It was founded in 1954 as the International Federation of Societies for Electron Microscopy (IFSEM) and formally constituted in 1955. The Federation changed its name and acronym in 2002 dropping the word Electron to more accurately reflect its interests. The purpose of IFSM is to contribute to the promotion and advancement of techniques and applications of microscopy in all relevant scientific disciplines. For this purpose, IFSM plays an important role in holding an International Microscopy Congress (known as IMCn where n is the nth such meeting) every four years. The meeting in Sydney is the 19th and the second time that IMC has been held in Australia organised by Australian Microscopy and Microanalysis Society.

IMC19 emphasises interactions between microscopists. Each day there is a Plenary lecture delivered by a leading expert. The IFSM Symposium is also held with the highlights being talks by the IFSM Medal Winners. The scientific sessions cover all fields of microscopy including Instrumentation, Physical and Life Sciences, and Frontier Issues. IMC19 is tightly integrated with a large commercial exhibition which itself includes not only state-of-the-art equipment often announced for the first time at the meeting. The meeting is preceded by a day-long mixer for early career scientists. The purpose of this is to encourage and support our future leaders to expand their international network by engaging in discussions with contemporaries as well as with senior scientists.

We hope that IMC19 will be an exciting and memorable event for everybody both scientifically and socially.

We are looking forward to meeting you in Sydney in September 2018.

Best Wishes,

International Federation of Societies for Microscopy (IFSM)
President: Kazuo Furuya, Japan
Vice President: C. Barry Carter, USA
General Secretary: Angus I. Kirkland, UK
Treasurer: Paul E. Fischione, USA

IFSM Committee Members
Jose L. Carrascosa, Spain
Pavel Hozak, Czech Republic
John Mansfield, USA
Syo Matsumura, Japan
Joachim Mayer, Germany
Paul Midgley, UK
Eva Olsson, Sweden
Simon Ringer (IMC19), Australia
Guillermo Solórzano, Brazil
Debbie Stokes (ICMA), The Netherlands



Express your Interest

Join our mailing list to be kept up to date with information on the Congress


Sponsorship and Exhibition
Expression of Interest

If you are interested in becoming a sponsor or exhibitor for IMC19, please express your interest by clicking the button below


Key Dates

1 March 2018 
Abstract Submission Deadline
10 May 2018 
Early Bird Registration Closes
10 May 2018 
Author Registration Deadline

Hosted by


Connect with IMC19

Congress Managers

Arinex Pty Ltd
Arinex Pty Ltd
ABN 28 000 386 676
Level 10, 51 Druitt Street, Sydney
NSW 2000
Ph: +61 2 9265 0700
Fax: +61 2 9267 5443